Beyond Borders Storytelling: Don’t Tell Mom

I was so excited to participate in the August edition of Beyond Borders Storytelling’s Story Jam: Don’t Tell Mom. In it, I tell the story of the first night I spent with my host family during Peace Corps Training in Ukraine.

Beyond Borders did a wonderful job hosting storytelling workshops. It was great to hear the stories of others as they worked through the process all the way to performance.

I was so nervous when I got on stage. I couldn’t see the audience through the bright lights, and I had forgotten some of the finer rhetorical details I’d been practicing. Luckily this is a story I’d told millions of times, and I managed to make my way, somewhat haltingly, through it.

Leave a Reply

